Inside the head of a designer


Mypolice meets Sicamp
June 28, 2009, 2:09 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Ello, ello, ello…

DSC_0146

Well its taken me a long time to write this post, the last couple of days have been hetic.

Basically, my idea that I put forward won Sicamp.  My idea was extremely back of the envelope, based on experiences of my own and especially influenced by the recent story of a friend…I put forward:

Recently after a friends flat was broken into I’ve had the experience of losing confidence in the police and not being kept informed about what is happening on the case. Let’s have police feedback and case updates on the web. Let’s get police telling and showing us what they’re doing. Let’s use new technologies to report crimes. Let us know what’s happening in our community and where our police officers are.”

It was a mash of many ideas but what I really wanted to take forward, and Sicamp realised was a way to feedback your opinions to the police, resulting in a better run police service that was influenced directly by the public experience.

SIcamp brings together designers, business brains, developers, coders and creative thinkers to work on ideas in a very short space of time and present to a team of investors and sponsors including first port, big lottery fund, 4ip, Skills development scotland and more.

Because I graduated on the Friday, I missed the first meet on Friday but managed to catch everyone at the pub and convince some fellow sicampers to join the mypolice team since I couldn’t find anyone who wanted to help me.

Luckily on Saturday morning I showed up and I had myself a team of 8 other individuals who all seemed as passionate about the idea as much as I was.  My team included 38minuter and programmer Kate Ho, Jen Davies, fellow GSA Grad James Brown, FutureGov’s Carrie Bishop, Olivier Raynault, and Estonia’s Tony Bowden, Charloote Mc Donald and Gayle Rice (who I am going to make get a twitter account!!!)

The point of the weekend was to develop the idea including the need for it, a business plan, future thinking and to code it so it would ‘work’ on the internet.  As I’m a designer, I wanted to make sure our idea was concrete then to develop the code.  I think as a group we tackled a tricky and difficult subject really well by taking different users through the site and created storyboards of how this might work, and what could be the downfalls of the site if it was misused.

I must hand it to the other groups though, Hitch n Bitch, Angelfish, Citipedia (Who I really thought would win), Flocklocal and Weedayout

I’m really excited to have won though, its an idea I’m really passionite about and have managed to free up some of my time this summer so I’m committed to taking this forward.  I’d like to thank everyone who has got in touch this week to congratulate us and offer help, I’m sure we are going to need it.

If you’d like to find  out more about us, you can sign up for a news letter at our site mypolice.org or follow our progress on our blog

And so now I’m waiting for our group to turn up at the arches, I’m a little early but rather keen and excited to plan out mypolice’s future.  What’s next for us?  Well we’re going backwards a little to research the police and how they operate and handle complaints, visiting stations.  We’ll also be getting in touch with the public so if you’re part of a local community group, let us know!  We’ll be visiting support organisations like the Samaritans and Crimestoppers and pulling together this information to design the site so it meets the needs of both the police and the public.

Wish us luck!

Additional Note: We got in the Sunday Times I’m going to post my response on the blog later.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

